Today I blog after having heard the news yesterday that a Hong Kong comedian legend has sadly passed away from heart attack. When I went online, the headlines from AsiaOne revealed it was none other than Ricky Hui (3 August 1946 – 8 November 2011)! As a blogger, I am not here to talk about his sudden demise but to talk about the fact he is never forgotten for his talent as a funnyman among the Hui brothers (that makes Michael, Ricky and Sam) and his contribution to the Hong Kong entertainment industry in the 1970s and 1980s.

Alright, I will admit one thing though: I happen to be a Hui brothers fan when I was growing up as a child where their movies such as The Private Eyes (1976) and Front Page (1990) would leave me in stitches with their gags and humourous antics on screen. Despite the fact that I am in my late twenties, their gags, humour and slapstick comedy from their movies has never failed to entertainment and make me laugh. And yes, it will be that way for as long as I am alive while I watch their movies on DVDs or the occasional reruns.

Anyway, before I go off-topic, let’s focus something on the late but legendary Ricky Hui. Although he may lacked in the good looks department, his ability to make people laugh and be funny along with his brothers, Michael and Sam, and his fellow castmates onscreen is a great but true talent that not so many people can do as beautifully as Ricky. Here is something very interesting that not many people know about Ricky Hui. Prior to entering the film career, he used to work as a correspondent for Agence France-Presse (AFP) as mentioned in the Hong Kong Cinemagic website. That is not all, he sang and wrote songs too (he did some collaborations with his brother Sam with songwriting and did guest appearances in Sam Hui’s concerts). Truly talented and intelligent fellow he was, don’t you think? Although he is gone too soon, he is never forgotten and he is loved by his family (as reported here) and his fans in Hong Kong and abroad. I believe he leaves a lasting legacy on both the Hong Kong entertainment industry and also he is an inspiration to those doing comedy. Lastly, I believe a posthumous lifetime achievement award should be awarded for his contributions on the entertainment industry in Hong Kong.

